Grandson David

Born in Woodstock, Ont., 1976, Aug five
David Edward did arrive
Little fat cheeks, eyes of blue,
He was rolly ploy too.

An impish smile you always had,
Hard to scold you when your bad.
Came to live with me just past the age of one,
Now your five, and still an impish grandson.

We moved from North Van. To Squamish, BC,
Where you go to school, to learn the A BC.
Go to church and learn about God and Jesus His son
You are a rascal, always full of fun.

You love to tease, especially your brother
Even pick on your grandmother.
You take my hand, when we go for a walk,
And love to sing, and talk, talk, talk.

My days would be lonely without you
Life would be blue too.
You help fill my lonely days and night
And tell me things will be all right.

At times you’re a rascal at times a real brat
Sometimes I could call you worse then that
But, wouldn’t trade you for another one,
You’ll always be my impish grandson.

David, I love you very much.

Grandma Herman
January 26, 1982

© Jean E. Herman. All rights reserved
(J. E. Herman Nov. 10, 1927-Nov. 2, 1999)

Leave a comment