Passing Into Eternity

So as the sun goeth down into the west,
So must I go down into the grave.
So as the sun riseth up,
I too shall rise up, eternally.
In sweet harmony, in the Kingdom of God.

Though my body returneth to the earth,
From whence it came.
My spirit liveth on,
Knowing sweet, untouched, eternal peace,
That cannot be found on this sin filled earth.

Oh death where is thy sting?
Jesus won over you, when nailed to the cross.
Though the soft winds bloweth,
The birds sing their praise,
And flowers nod their heads to and fro.
They wither, die and pass into nothing,
But I shall pass from the unsettled earth,
Full of heartaches, sorrow and uneasiness,
Into a world of peace, eternal joy.
Sweet, sweet peace.

Don’t weep when I’m gone, rejoice with me,
Knowing I’m happy.
A happiness that will not be altered.
So come quickly Lord Jesus,
That I may find the real peace I have been searching for,
Which I cannot find here.

Jean E. Herman

© Jean E. Herman. All Rights Reserved
(J. E. Herman Nov. 10, 1927-Nov. 2, 1999)

Leave a comment